Handmade journal and art journal spread…

It has been a painful week for me. Which means with pain, I struggle with my art or craft or whatever I’m working on.

I’ve been watching Cat Hand’s Mixed Media Morsels videos on YouTube and trying out the techniques she demonstrates in the videos. I’m doing them in a journal which is about 5″ x 7″, writing any notes about the technique on the opposite page. Some techniques I end up doing more than once due to issues I run into and I want to try it again in order to get a better understanding of the process.  Last night I finished #11 torn paper strips and #12 easy handmade journal. Although I haven’t embellished either of them, I consider them done at least as far as doing the technique. I will embellish the journal later and add pages to it. I’m still trying to determine if I want to stitch the signatures in or use an elastic band to hold them in place like a midori. I’m leaning more towards stitching, mostly because I need the practice.

mmm11-torn-paper-strips

torn paper strips background on a journal page

mmm12-easy-handmade-art-journal-1

easy handmade journal, made using boxes from packaged food.

mmm12-easy-handmade-art-journal-2

inside of journal, decorated with decorative paper

Over the past few days I have also been working on an art journal spread. I’ve been following Barb Owen on YouTube, watching her live streams as well as her recorded videos. During one of her live streams, she showed her art journal she was making using positive words. I thought this a great idea, since I needed to be more positive in my life. I am up to letter F and decided I loved the whimsical birds from one of the Mixed Media Morsels videos and thought they would do nicely for the subject matter for this spread.

postive-words-f-spread

Positive Words “F” art journal spread

Generally, I work on more than one thing at a time and as you can see the past few days was no exception. However, it seems everything completed all around the same time.  I’m never at a loss for projects, just have to decide which ones I want to work on.

Leave a Reply

