My first canvas painting…

I could not ignore my calling to create a canvas after I had created the MDS I wrote about in my previous post.  A long time ago, when my daughter and I were in Michaels, we purchased two packages of canvases each one different sizes. I’m sure it was probably more than a year ago and they sat in my house untouched. At least until last night.

I could no longer resist the pull I felt towards working on canvas. I knew I could always paint over it if it came out horribly. I wanted to experiment. This is new to me. I know I’ve been experimenting for a while now but generally I have to push myself in order to do it. There was no pushing involved here. I was being dragged, not necessarily kicking and screaming, but definitely dragged.

Why?

Because my  logical mind told me I needed to watch some videos on the proper way to paint on canvas with mixed media.

Am I crazy, or what?

This other voice was telling me to just go for it. Just have fun. EXPERIMENT!

It is probably needless to say by now that my creative mind, that other voice, won out over the logical side of my brain. For years, my logical side had the say so. It controlled everything I did. It made all my decisions.

But now?

Well, what do you think? Should I listen to my creative side, or my logical side, after looking at the picture below?

20160402 Bring in the Flowers

Personally, I love the painting. I am going to hang it on a wall in my house where I can see it every day. It will be my reminder of what I can do when I just sit down and EXPERIMENT.

I want to do a larger canvas and I’m not talking about a canvas just a couple inches larger. I want one of those big mamas that take up a large portion of the wall. But, hey, there goes my logical brain telling me I need to learn more about painting on canvas. I need to get better at working with mixed media. I need to plan out what I want to do on such a large surface. IT CAN’T JUST BE AN EXPERIMENT!

Go figure. I’m learning my logical side isn’t quite so smart. Doesn’t always give the best advice. And… can sometimes make me feel like I’m stupid for ever going down this path.

See that corner over there, Miss Logical? Go claim it. Go sit in it for a while in silence and think about all that you have told me. Then think about why EXPERIMENTING is so wrong on a large canvas. Ask yourself, “should I really listen to you, who hasn’t lifted up a single paint brush in her life?” Go on take your seat, claim your spot, and find out how golden silence really is.

Yes, I think, I’m going crazy.

~Patti

2 thoughts on “My first canvas painting…

Leave a Reply

