Mandala Madness

It has been a crazy couple of weeks. I won’t go into the details other than to say my focus on my artwork has suffered because of it. I, however, am thankful for signing up for the Mandala Madness course provided by Barb Owen of How To Get Creative. The course started just a couple weeks ago and has helped keep me centered. Over the past year or so drawing mandalas is what has kept me sane. It is my go-to therapy when things start stressing me out or causing me anxiety.

If you haven’t heard of Barb Owen and How To Get Creative, I suggest you check out her YouTube live streams on Friday’s at 2pm Eastern.  You can find them from her YouTube channel here.

I am up to class 5 and 6 of Mandala Madness and here are the mandalas I created this past week:

I cannot take credit for the design. These came straight from Barb’s class. Though no two mandalas are alike, the idea behind each of the mandalas came directly from her class. I don’t think I would have thought of doing anything like these two if it wasn’t for her class.

I have been drawing mandalas for over a year now and I can get quite intricate with mine although I rarely add color. I enjoy the stark black and white designs, so adding color to mandalas is fairly new to me and I am thoroughly enjoying the different ways Barb is teaching us how she adds colors to her mandalas.

I decided I wanted to create a journal from the mandalas I am creating from the class and came up with an idea of how to do that. Since I am creating them on loose sheets of paper, I combined some of my knowledge of creating scrapbooks to come up with a way to do it.

It might be hard to tell from the photos below so I’ll try to describe my idea. When I have 4 completed mandalas from the class I will create a hinge from cardstock to adhere the pages to creating a signature which can then be sewn into a journal cover.

I took a folded piece of cardstock so one side was the same length as the page and the width was wide enough to adhere about 3/4″ of the edge of the page to one side of the fold while leaving about 1/4″ or more next to the crease.  I attached page 1 and page 2 back to back onto  one side of the folded piece of cardstock and adhered 2 of the sides leaving the top edge open so the page forms a pocket that opens at the top. I did that in case I wanted to create smaller mandalas, then I could just slide them into the pocket to store them. I did the same thing with page 3 and 4 on the other side of the folded piece of cardstock. This forms one signature.

The 2nd picture in the series below shows page 2 and 3 spread open so the fold of the folded piece of cardstock they are adhered to is in the center. I used washi tape to hide the seam where the pages are attached. The first photo is the front of the signature, page 1, and the 3rd photo is the back of the signature, page 4. Once I complete Mandala Madness I should have a few signatures to sew together and attach to a journal cover I create. I adhered the pages to the folded piece of cardstock using double-sided tape.

I can’t wait to see what else she has in store for us to learn in her Mandala Madness class. I am already surprised by what all I am learning even though drawing mandalas isn’t new to me. If you want to find out how to make any of these mandalas, you’ll need to check out her class at howtogetcreative.com.

~Patti

 

Leave a Reply

